The European University Hospital Alliance

The European University Hospital Alliance is formed by leading European university hospitals with demonstrated excellence in healthcare, education and research.



Nine of the leading European university hospitals are collaborating to improve outcomes for today’s and tomorrow’s patients. They foster excellence and innovation in healthcare, research and education to improve the quality of care at a European level. Innovating together facilitates peer-learning and benchmarking at European level, contributing to the sustainability of our healthcare systems.

Each of the nine members is a leading university hospital within their country. All have a capacity of more than 1,000 beds, are national reference sites and together, they cover 100% of the existing European Reference Networks (ERNs). In addition, all Alliance members have centres of excellence in research and are associated with a university.

The Alliance is governed by the general assembly. The general assembly meets twice a year for strategic priority setting and review of Alliance activity. At the general assembly each of the members is formally represented by their CEO and has equal voting rights. Every six months a rotating presidency will be the face of the Alliance, currently the presidency is held by Erasmus MC. The Alliance is a platform for “official projects”, as determined by the General Assembly, but also allows for informal collaborations (e.g. exchange of ideas, sharing of best-practice, visits) at all levels and within all roles of the member institutions.

The secretariat of the Alliance is managed by Lynn Seveke, who is based in Barcelona at the Vall d’Hebron Campus. The secretariat drives alliance activity, oversees project delivery and is leads the development of wider stakeholder relations.

Following the mandate of the general assembly, the steering committee – composed of one operational focal point for each member – assists the secretariat with bringing the mandate into pratice and forms a permanent direct link to the Alliance CEOs.

The steering committee consists of the following people:

  • Louis Lebrun & Vera Asvanyi; AP-HP, Paris, France
  • Anna van Santen; Charité, Berlin, Germany
  • Rosemarijn Steensma; Erasmus MC, Rotterdam, the Netherlands
  • Anna Flavia d’Amelio Einaudi; Ospedale San Raffaele, Milan, Italy
  • Anna Sahlström; Karolinska University Hospital, Stockholm, Sweden
  • Julia Wendon; King’s Health Partners, London, United Kingdom
  • Johan van Eldere; UZ Leuven, Leuven, Belgium
  • Michael Peterlunger; AKH Wien & MedUni Wien, Vienna, Austria
  • Fátima Núñez; Vall d’Hebron Barcelona Hospital Campus, Barcelona, Spain